Hello people

Anything at least distantly related to MegaDrum

Hello people

Postby Goldie » Mon Nov 12, 2007 6:14 pm

I am new here and wanna say hallo to all of you.

My first question is not megadrum related. I own Alesis D4 which i have bought used for about 100 dolars. When i turn it of it works fine for about 10 min and then starts to sound something like circuit bending for about 5 min and then freezes and have to cool down and restart, so i cant use it as trigger to midi :D . Ive recorded example, but dont know where to upload. Ive had Alesis HR16 which had exactly same symptoms and i threw it in garbage (mistake). Someone said it could be power suply, i dont know. Please help me solve this.

Of course this module wont be used for spare parts for megadrum. Right now i am collecting parts, found some pots, buttons, resistors etc. I think it will be absolute charme to make one from garbage, fx. 3 mini jacks, 2 phono and 3 xlr :D . For people in Denmark, there is site http://www.elektronik-lavpris.dk which have all parts. I will upload my list for other users when its finished.

This will be my first electronic project and i dont have any expirience, but i learn quick. Its size of those boards that scare me most. It looks nice on monitor, but when i printed one on paper... wow. Would be nice if it could be little bigger, half rack space would be nice. Just openet Roland Gi10 guitar to midi interface which is same size and its so nice made, components are spread apart. My dream is 5mm pads, 2mm holes, 200x200 board, 1mm lines with 3mm space (idiot proof) :o

Another thing is Atmega writing. I've made some working software in VB6 before, but this i dont know. I guess i have to burn couple of pieces before i learn how to.

In my opinion cheapest way to build it would be with some memory places for presets, and midi in for programming and midi out for playing, no display, no usb .This rises other problems like Atmega writing, power suply, program change etc.

Thats it for now. Cheers.
Goldie
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 5:04 pm

Re: Hello people

Postby dmitri » Tue Nov 13, 2007 9:31 am

Goldie wrote:I am new here and wanna say hallo to all of you.

My first question is not megadrum related. I own Alesis D4 which i have bought used for about 100 dolars. When i turn it of it works fine for about 10 min and then starts to sound something like circuit bending for about 5 min and then freezes and have to cool down and restart, so i cant use it as trigger to midi :D . Ive recorded example, but dont know where to upload. Ive had Alesis HR16 which had exactly same symptoms and i threw it in garbage (mistake). Someone said it could be power suply, i dont know. Please help me solve this.

I can hardly be of any help here. Anyone?

Of course this module wont be used for spare parts for megadrum. Right now i am collecting parts, found some pots, buttons, resistors etc. I think it will be absolute charme to make one from garbage, fx. 3 mini jacks, 2 phono and 3 xlr :D . For people in Denmark, there is site http://www.elektronik-lavpris.dk which have all parts. I will upload my list for other users when its finished.

This will be my first electronic project and i dont have any expirience, but i learn quick. Its size of those boards that scare me most. It looks nice on monitor, but when i printed one on paper... wow. Would be nice if it could be little bigger, half rack space would be nice. Just openet Roland Gi10 guitar to midi interface which is same size and its so nice made, components are spread apart. My dream is 5mm pads, 2mm holes, 200x200 board, 1mm lines with 3mm space (idiot proof) :o

There are MegaDrum schematics in DipTrace format on the Schematics page and you can make your own PCB designs to your own liking using a free version of DipTrace.


Another thing is Atmega writing. I've made some working software in VB6 before, but this i dont know. I guess i have to burn couple of pieces before i learn how to.

If you follow my instructions right you should not encounter any problems.

In my opinion cheapest way to build it would be with some memory places for presets, and midi in for programming and midi out for playing, no display, no usb .This rises other problems like Atmega writing, power suply, program change etc.

It's all there! without usb you will only need a separate 5V power supply.
dmitri
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8261
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:05 pm

Re: Hello people

Postby Aaron » Tue Nov 13, 2007 12:43 pm

what do you mean "sound something like circuit bending"

also is it a sound coming from the box or from the speakers ?
Aaron
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 1:48 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Hello people

Postby Goldie » Tue Nov 13, 2007 12:57 pm

Hi Aaron.

If you go to youtube and search for "circuit bent roland" you can hear how roland tr-505 sounds. Its funny if you do it on purpose. I dont :D
Goldie
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 5:04 pm

Re: Hello people

Postby Goldie » Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:13 pm

Thank you guys for trying to help. Ok, here is recording i made.

http://boomp3.com/m/340b658e8654

1 bar after turning power on
2 bar after about 10 min
3 bar after about 11 min
4 bar after around 12 min

After i recorded bar 4 module freezes and have to restart. If i power it on immediately it's still frosen, only squares are on display. I have to wait 1 hour or so.
Goldie
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 5:04 pm

Re: Hello people

Postby dmitri » Tue Nov 13, 2007 2:09 pm

Goldie wrote:Thank you guys for trying to help. Ok, here is recording i made.

http://boomp3.com/m/340b658e8654

1 bar after turning power on
2 bar after about 10 min
3 bar after about 11 min
4 bar after around 12 min

After i recorded bar 4 module freezes and have to restart. If i power it on immediately it's still frosen, only squares are on display. I have to wait 1 hour or so.

I'd check power out voltage. I guess it should be close to either 5V or 12V or 18V. And also check voltage on IC's, should be close to either 3.3V or 5V.
dmitri
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8261
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:05 pm

Re: Hello people

Postby Goldie » Tue Nov 13, 2007 2:54 pm

If you mean power out from power suply i did it yesterday. It was 11,1v. after 1/2 hour i measured again 11,1 so i thought it was ok. It wasn't conected to Alesis. Power suply is alesis model output 9v-7va. Do you think 11,1v is too high reading?

I will try to check ic-s also, lots of stuff inside :D . Have to do some googling
Goldie
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 5:04 pm

Re: Hello people

Postby Aaron » Wed Nov 14, 2007 12:02 am

the adapter will show a higher voltage without a load.

i would start checking for dry joints & dry electrolylic capacitors.
Aaron
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 1:48 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Hello people

Postby baguette » Fri Nov 16, 2007 6:44 pm

can you open it and post a photo of the board (both sides if possible, but the component side might do it)?
baguette
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 11:22 am

Re: Hello people

Postby Goldie » Fri Nov 16, 2007 7:01 pm

Hi baquette!

All i have is my cellphone 2meg pixel, and old Kodak 1meg pixel. No macros here :D . But i'll do it now, best i can. I think Kodak will do better.
Goldie
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 5:04 pm

Next

Return to Off topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests