Building a mallet xylophone trigger

Anything at least distantly related to MegaDrum

Building a mallet xylophone trigger

Postby Marki » Sat Aug 23, 2014 10:06 pm

Im contemplating on building a electronic xylophone but there 2 things that concern me that I hope you can help me with. 1. Unlike a drum trigger where you imput each drum, I need to have all the triggers on the xylophone exit thru midi (like a MIDI piano)Do you know of a way how this can be done. And 2 does the Mega drum do this or could you adapt the mega drum to do this? I have been a drummer for over 40 years but have just recently gotten into electronic drums and im curently building a e-drum set and have a brain to give it sound. T
hat project is almost finished. But id like to build a e-xylophone and was wondering if you could help me out?
Marki

Re: Building a mallet xylophone trigger

Postby airflamesred » Sun Aug 24, 2014 5:49 am

Welcome,
And yes, all that you need to do, is possible with a megadrum. The 56 inputs can give you 4+octaves. Keep us posted as I'm always interested in the construction of these.

koby drums - Triggera krigg/Bix - megadrum - Kontakt........... Samples from all and sundry.
airflamesred

Postby Marki » Sun Aug 24, 2014 9:46 pm

Question: Do the 56 inputs connect to the Mega Drum via 1/4 inch cables or is there another way to do this. This is the part that I cant quit grasp yet. could you explain how I can go from triggers to a midi cable?
Marki

Postby airflamesred » Mon Aug 25, 2014 6:28 am

The megadrum it's self takes piezo signals (up to 56) and processes those signals, then converting them to midi data. That midi data is sent out via midi or usb.

How you connect your triggers/piezos to megadrum is potentially up to you. You might even be able to build the megadrum within your mallet (the board is about 3x4 inches)

Am I right in assuming you can solder?

koby drums - Triggera krigg/Bix - megadrum - Kontakt........... Samples from all and sundry.
airflamesred