Saving configuration to Megadrum for my midi vibes

Discussions of any related software

Moderator: Related software moderators

Re: Saving configuration to Megadrum for my midi vibes

Postby kevin251 » Wed Jun 30, 2021 5:01 pm

OK so I have Megadrum driving GarageBand via a USB connection which is great.

However, is it possible to use the 5-pin MIDI out port to drive a sound source via its MIDI in port e.g. my Roland XV2020 module or even my Casio PX5S?

I presume the USB midi overrides the 5-pin MIDI output. Would I replace the USB with a phone adapter as per the How do I power Megadrum link so that the MIDI signal goes out via the MIDI port?
kevin251
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2020 12:53 am

Re: Saving configuration to Megadrum for my midi vibes

Postby ibanman555 » Wed Jun 30, 2021 5:47 pm

You can use both. I have DIN going to one computer with sounds, and USB to a laptop at the kit for MDMFX, for Example!
ibanman555
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 8:44 pm
Location: Upstate New York (Adirondacks)

Re: Saving configuration to Megadrum for my midi vibes

Postby kevin251 » Sun Jul 04, 2021 12:16 pm

ibanman555 wrote:You can use both. I have DIN going to one computer with sounds, and USB to a laptop at the kit for MDMFX, for Example!
Thanks, Scott. But DIN messages don't seem to be recognised. On my Roland A500 Pro for example, if I have both USB & DIN connected, the USB takes over so is this the same on MD and is there a MD setting that needs to be flicked so that the MD takes the DIN messages rather than the USB?
kevin251
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2020 12:53 am

Re: Saving configuration to Megadrum for my midi vibes

Postby ibanman555 » Sun Jul 04, 2021 2:52 pm

I suppose it depends on what type of MegaDrum you have. Read here

https://www.megadrum.info/content/misce ... s-settings
ibanman555
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 8:44 pm
Location: Upstate New York (Adirondacks)

Re: Saving configuration to Megadrum for my midi vibes

Postby kevin251 » Sun Jul 04, 2021 5:38 pm

ibanman555 wrote:I suppose it depends on what type of MegaDrum you have. Read here

https://www.megadrum.info/content/misce ... s-settings
Thanks again, Scott. I'll check over the next few days but I guess I need to see what the "<MIDI Speed >" is set to?
kevin251
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2020 12:53 am

Re: Saving configuration to Megadrum for my midi vibes

Postby ibanman555 » Sun Jul 04, 2021 6:50 pm

That would be my best guess...maybe that will solve your issue.
ibanman555
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 8:44 pm
Location: Upstate New York (Adirondacks)

Re: Saving configuration to Megadrum for my midi vibes

Postby dmitri » Sun Jul 04, 2021 9:54 pm

STM32 based MegaDrum always uses standard MIDI speed 31250 over standard MIDI port.
If you connect MegaDrum using standard MIDI, make sure you connect it correctly, i.e you connect MegaDrum's MIDI Out port to a PC's/sound card's/MIDI device's MIDI In port.
dmitri
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8537
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:05 pm

Re: Saving configuration to Megadrum for my midi vibes

Postby kevin251 » Sun Aug 08, 2021 5:39 pm

dmitri wrote:STM32 based MegaDrum always uses standard MIDI speed 31250 over standard MIDI port.
If you connect MegaDrum using standard MIDI, make sure you connect it correctly, i.e you connect MegaDrum's MIDI Out port to a PC's/sound card's/MIDI device's MIDI In port.

@dimitri @ibanman555
The problem was that the MIDI DINs had been reconnected incorrectly! So all working as should.
kevin251
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2020 12:53 am

Re: Saving configuration to Megadrum for my midi vibes

Postby kevin251 » Sun Aug 08, 2021 5:42 pm

Another question...

As I am not using Megadrum as a trigger for drums as such, can I set the MIDI send channel to something other than 10?

If so, is the only way to do this via MDMFX changing each note from Channel 10 to the desired channel?

Thanks again
kevin251
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2020 12:53 am

Re: Saving configuration to Megadrum for my midi vibes

Postby airflamesred » Mon Aug 09, 2021 3:41 pm

It's not the only way but doing it via MD is a real chore.
MDM is the way forward.

koby drums - Triggera krigg/Bix - megadrum - Kontakt........... Samples from all and sundry.
airflamesred
 
Posts: 1187
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 1:58 pm
Location: Hammersmith

PreviousNext

Return to Related Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests

cron