MegaDrum Manager FX Questions for A Noobie!

Discussions of any related software

Moderator: Related software moderators

MegaDrum Manager FX Questions for A Noobie!

Postby Stephen Spurlock » Sat Sep 09, 2017 5:13 am

I have read a lot of different posts on different Yamaha, DIY & Roland cymbals. I have read a lot on different drums and cake pan designs.

I have a few questions about how MegaDrum works generically, and how to setup MegaDrum Manager and thought it would help to have them in one place. I am going to try to keep it simple and not brand specific.

I have a 56 input MegaDrum with Positional Sensing add-on board. To my knowledge everything is working great inside of the MegaDrum "module." My hope is to get MegaDrum working with Superior Drummer. I only use MegaDrum Manager FX. Also, FYI- I am not a drummer. I am a producer and engineer that drums...

My first question is about drums and multiple zones:: Am I correct in my understanding of zones?

1 zone: 1 piezo = 1 sample triggered
2 zone: 2 piezos = 2 samples triggered
3 zone: 2 piezos = 3 samples triggered

My second question:: Am I correct in my understanding of MegaDrum's processing?

1 Zone: 1 Piezo connected to the Tip/Sleeve of a jack

The piezo gives a voltage reading that is turned into velocity on the Head/Bow input.

2 Zone: 2 Piezos, one connected to the Tip/Sleeve and the other connected to Ring/Sleeve of a jack
The Tip/Sleeve piezo gives a voltage that is turned into a velocity on the Head/Bow input. The second piezo connected to the Ring/Sleeve sends a voltage that is turned into a velocity on the Rim/Edge input. The second piezo is usually on the wall of drum to send a midi note for when you strike the rim of the drum...note: the type on the Head/Bow input is set to "Dual or 3way Yamaha" and the type on the Rim/Edge input is set to "Piezo" and the 3rd zone is disabled.

3 Zone: 2 Piezos, one connected to the Tip/Sleeve and the other connected to Ring/Sleeve of a jack