MegaDrum Manager GUI redesign. How do you like it?

Discussions of any related software

Moderator: Related software moderators

MegaDrum Manager GUI redesign. How do you like it?

Postby halifax30 » Mon Dec 19, 2016 12:33 pm

This post has been in my drafts folder for exactly 1 year, but in the past days I finally had the time to finalize and post it.
Back in December 2015 I was a new MegaDrum user and I was going through the initial frustration of setting it up. Part of the frustration was that I didn't fully understand how MegaDrum Manager worked and found some parts of it slightly confusing. Since I'm also a Java developer I decided to improve the layout of the buttons a little.
Attached you can see the screenshot of my reorganized MDM. It is not only a design I created in Photoshop. This actually works! I've been using it for the past 1 year without any major problems.
I'm interested in your suggestions. If you want to try it, let me know. I can send you the latest JAR file.

Some of the reasons why I moved certain buttons
  • The new window is divided into two parts: left side contains everything related to the MegaDrum unit while the right side contains MDM-related buttons. This hopefully helps to clear the confusion that for example the MIDI Log does not show what happens inside MegaDrum. I used to believe that. It only shows the results coming out of MegaDrum after(!) it processed the input signals. It means that if input 1 is set to Note 47 and the 3rd zone of input 3 is also set to Note 47 then the MIDI Log might show a 3rd zone hit (orange bar) when you trigger input 1 because it doesn't know exactly which input was triggered in MD.