software unresponsive

Discussions of any related software

Moderator: Related software moderators

Re: software unresponsive

Postby dmitri » Thu Jul 09, 2020 12:33 pm

Looks like sysexes are ok with initial 'GetAll' but get corrupted after that. I will try to reproduce it but if I cannot (i.e. the problem is specific to your setup or to what you do) I may ask you to do more tests.
dmitri
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8383
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:05 pm

Re: software unresponsive

Postby Paddlsonic » Thu Jul 09, 2020 1:02 pm

As always Dmitri, i am very appreciative of your time to try and work this out. cheers. P
Paddlsonic
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2020 11:24 am

Re: software unresponsive

Postby dmitri » Mon Jul 20, 2020 8:45 pm

Tried to reproduce it and still cannot.

Please download this test2 MDMFX version: https://www.megadrum.info/downloads/mdm ... -test2.jar
Please start MegaDrum with default config again - power it up while holding button 'RIGHT' pressed, then using MegaDrum Menu save the default config to slot 1. Wait ~10s until it shows 'Globals saved' on the LCD.

Run MDMFX from a command line as :

java -jar MegaDrumManagerFX-test2.jar

After 'Open MIDI' in MDMFX do 'GetAll' first.
It should produce an output which will look like this:

Code: Select all
Sysex received with pad pointer = 1
Good sysex:
f0 70 00 03 01 02 04 09 01 01 0e 00 08 04 00 00 00 01 04 04 02 00 04 0c 06 00 00 00 00 00 00 02 04 02 04 f7
End of good sysex.
...
Sysex received with pad pointer = 31
Good sysex:
f0 70 00 03 1f 03 0f 09 01 01 0e 00 08 04 00 00 00 01 04 04 02 00 04 0c 06 00 00 00 00 00 00 03 0f 03 0f f7
End of good sysex.


After that do whatever you do to reproduce the problem without making any config changes.

Once MDMFX receives an incorrect sysex it will produce something like this again:

Code: Select all
Sysex received with pad pointer = 0
Incorrect pad pointer, ignoring sysex
Bad sysex:
f0 70 00 03 01 02 04 09 01 01 04 01 04 02 06 00 02 01 04 06 00 00 00 0c 06 00 00 00 00 00 04 02 04 02 04 f7
End of bad sysex.


Please copy the whole output and post it here.

Also, if you can get access to Mac or Linux, can you test there?
dmitri
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8383
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:05 pm

Re: software unresponsive

Postby Paddlsonic » Mon Jul 27, 2020 9:52 am

done.
file is attached.
It seems i get good sysex as long as i just play and not change any config values as you said.

After awhile if i do try to change any parameters i get all the bit at the end of the output file. I think you have said it doesn't refer to MDMFX code. it seems weird though that i only get that output if i use MDMFX. Very strange. it's beyond me as to what at my end could cause MDMFX to lockup, not altogether but only certain elements and not straight away but after a few minutes of use.

We may have reached an impasse.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Paddlsonic
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2020 11:24 am

Re: software unresponsive

Postby dmitri » Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:06 am

Please, can you borrow a Mac or a Linux to test on?
dmitri
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8383
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:05 pm

Re: software unresponsive

Postby Rovalo » Mon Aug 03, 2020 9:08 pm

Paddlsonic wrote:… all drop down menus become unresponsive…


Paddlsonic, is the issue solved?

This evening I had a similar issue, when clicking load/save buttons nothing happened.
I'm not sure if that was after the major Win10 update that could no longer be postponed…

I removed the MDMFX.config and updated Java, no succes.
Then I uninstalled MDMFX, restarted and reinstalled MDMFX, it works again.
Kind regards, Rob.

MD STM32F205RCT6 v3 (STM32d_56) full kit with 1.8" colour LCD, PDX-8, KD8, FD8, 2xCY5, 5xCY8, CY12R, 5x MPS300 DIY upgrade with mesh head/Roland cone/dual zone, Steinberg UR22/UR44.
Rovalo
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 9:52 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: software unresponsive

Postby Paddlsonic » Fri Aug 21, 2020 4:20 am

Hi Dmitri,

So after checking on other computers to no avail, I was reading through the forum looking for anything that could help and found something.
It appears as long as i make midiin2 (megadrum usb midi) for midi in and megadrum usb midi for midi out, all works fine (if i swap them around or use any other combo, problems still appear) I have tried may combinations looking at how it talks to the other elements in my setup but this one seems to always work in the whole setup and more importantly with the MD unit. I'm not sure why this particular setup works but as of now i'm not asking questions, just getting on with tweaking.

thanks for all your help Dmitri. i knew we could find a solution eventually.

cheers

Paul
Paddlsonic
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2020 11:24 am

Previous

Return to Related Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 33 guests