sensitivity issues with Roland PD120 for snare

Discussions related to MegaDrum Hardware

sensitivity issues with Roland PD120 for snare

Postby bcmusic » Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:07 pm

Hi guys, my first post. I just received Dmitri's awesome creation today in the mail (built by him), so I am trying to configure it with Superior 2.0.

I read that the PD120s run hot... but I don't want to build a reisistor (I have no idea how to do that anyway)...

I set my Megadrum to All Gain LOW (Dmitri wrote that it lowers the overall gain to less than zero which is great)... and I still get a velocity of 127 even if I don't hit the snare pad very hard.

How do I need to set my PD120 in Megadrum so it's more realistic/responsive and have light hits be LIGHT and heavy hits reach maximum velocity?

Also, the rim is triggering when I hit the head... what do I need to set to make this not happen? Xtalk?

I am new to Megadrum, and although I love this... if I can't get the PD120 to respond the way I need it to, then I will be forced to sell my Megadrum, which I don't want to do.

Thanks for ANY help!!!

-Chris
bcmusic

Re: sensitivity issues with Roland PD120 for snare

Postby kwas » Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:30 pm

Best way to "cool down" the pad is a resistor or a pot. If you are using this pad in a nother stup with some other module then the pot is a way to go since it can change the resistance and you can adjust it according to module you are using. If you decide to do that I'm shure there are guys more expirienced in electronic, willing to help you out.
kwas

Postby bcmusic » Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:37 pm

I normally use a Roland TD8 as my module.... but I was wanting to use the Megadrum instead because of the 3-zone triggering capabilities... and the extra inputs! :)

How does a pot work? Do I need to build it inside the snare pad or does it go between the 1/4" cable and the PD120?