Question On Hi-Hat Setup With Mega Drum

Discussions related to MegaDrum Hardware

Question On Hi-Hat Setup With Mega Drum

Postby anewdayproductions » Wed Nov 24, 2021 2:11 pm

Hello forum, so I'm new to drum triggering in general and still feeling my way through everything. I have the 56 input MD module and am using Superior Drummer 3 for my sound library. For my hi-hat and cymbals I'm using Magnatrack cymbals and triggers. And I think I have my head just about wrapped around everything except the hi-hat/controller setup. Specifically how to properly hook up my hi-hat to the MD module.

I know that the first physical input on the MD module is the hi-hat controller input. And I understand the CC midi thing and how that opens and closes the hats in the SD3 software. But, I don't understand how to physically combine the hi-hat trigger on the hi-hat itself with the CC stuff (the controller) and get that into Mega Drum.

I'm using this for the hi-hats (https://www.magnatrack.com/shop/electro ... 4-hi-hats/) which has one trigger.

And then I'm using this for the controller (https://www.magnatrack.com/shop/electro ... oller-two/).

So my question is how do I hook everything up? Before I got to the controller part, I initially had the hi-hat trigger plugged into an input on Mega Drum just like any other trigger and it worked fine. But, now that I have the controller thing plugged up (into Input 1) I don't understand how the trigger inside the hats and the controller work together. Do I plug both the hi-hat trigger and the controller into different physical inputs on MD? Or do I plug both of them into a stereo adapter and then plug that into Input 1 (the controller input) in Mega Drum?

If I can just figure that out I think I'm good on the software side with Superior Drummer 3 and getting everything calibrated.

Thanks for your help. And thank you specifically Dmitri for your help so far.
anewdayproductions

Re: Question On Hi-Hat Setup With Mega Drum