MD midi inactive after loading config with MD front controls

Discussions related to MegaDrum Hardware

Re: MD midi inactive after loading config with MD front cont

Postby dmitri » Sat Nov 02, 2019 9:39 pm

I'm looking into big VU meter issue.
What is the problem with loading last config?
dmitri
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8281
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:05 pm

Re: MD midi inactive after loading config with MD front cont

Postby Rovalo » Sat Nov 02, 2019 10:48 pm

dmitri wrote:I'm looking into big VU meter issue.
Thank you, take your time.

dmitri wrote:What is the problem with loading last config?
MD does not autoload last loaded config after power cycle (with AutoLoadConf set to yes).
When I load a different config, MD will only autoload that latest config after power cycle when I first re-save it (under the same slot/name) before power cycle.
Kind regards, Rob.

MD STM32F205RCT6 v3 (STM32d_56) full kit with 1.8" colour LCD, PDX-8, KD8, FD8, 2xCY5, 5xCY8, CY12R, 5x MPS300 DIY upgrade with mesh head/Roland cone/dual zone, Steinberg UR22/UR44.
Rovalo
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 9:52 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: MD midi inactive after loading config with MD front cont

Postby Rovalo » Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:14 pm

Hello Dmitri,

On power cycle MD it works fine.
But something strange happens when I start MDMFX.
After opening midi and clicking GetAll, MD reaches a state which looks like noise?
See attachment, no pads are touched.

In MD LCD the top line(s) of the word 'Pedal' and the config name turns black.

Pls. let me know if I need to test something.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Kind regards, Rob.

MD STM32F205RCT6 v3 (STM32d_56) full kit with 1.8" colour LCD, PDX-8, KD8, FD8, 2xCY5, 5xCY8, CY12R, 5x MPS300 DIY upgrade with mesh head/Roland cone/dual zone, Steinberg UR22/UR44.
Rovalo
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 9:52 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: MD midi inactive after loading config with MD front cont

Postby dmitri » Sun Nov 03, 2019 9:46 am

Is it with new firmware or was it there with old firmware?
dmitri
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8281
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:05 pm

Re: MD midi inactive after loading config with MD front cont

Postby Rovalo » Sun Nov 03, 2019 11:58 am

dmitri wrote:Is it with new firmware or was it there with old firmware?
Now that you ask, I do remember something similar happened before, but not as consistent as with latest firmware.

I will reload previous firmware to check if this was the same issue and if I can reproduce it.
Kind regards, Rob.

MD STM32F205RCT6 v3 (STM32d_56) full kit with 1.8" colour LCD, PDX-8, KD8, FD8, 2xCY5, 5xCY8, CY12R, 5x MPS300 DIY upgrade with mesh head/Roland cone/dual zone, Steinberg UR22/UR44.
Rovalo
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 9:52 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: MD midi inactive after loading config with MD front cont

Postby dmitri » Sun Nov 03, 2019 12:00 pm

The Big VU meter bug should be fixed now. Please test this firmware version:
megadrumSTM32d_56_20191103.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
dmitri
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8281
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:05 pm

Re: MD midi inactive after loading config with MD front cont

Postby Rovalo » Sun Nov 03, 2019 7:44 pm

I found what caused the noise. Due to the testing with loading/saving/firmware etc, in one of the configs NoiseFilterLevel was reduced from 9 to 5 so the issue was indeed noise. When that config was loaded there was noise. With setting 9 in that config as well the noise was gone. So there is no issue.

The big VU meter is perfect now, thanks a lot.

So the remaining minor issue is only that on MD power cycle the last loaded config is not reloaded. Only the last saved config is reloaded.
For me it is not a big deal, but it is not what should happen with AutoLoadConf set to yes.

Thanks again for the support!
Kind regards, Rob.

MD STM32F205RCT6 v3 (STM32d_56) full kit with 1.8" colour LCD, PDX-8, KD8, FD8, 2xCY5, 5xCY8, CY12R, 5x MPS300 DIY upgrade with mesh head/Roland cone/dual zone, Steinberg UR22/UR44.
Rovalo
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 9:52 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: MD midi inactive after loading config with MD front cont

Postby dmitri » Mon Nov 04, 2019 7:51 pm

Please test this firmware version for the 'last loaded config' bit:
megadrumSTM32d_56_20191104.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
dmitri
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8281
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:05 pm

Re: MD midi inactive after loading config with MD front cont

Postby Rovalo » Tue Nov 05, 2019 11:06 pm

Hello Dmitri,

I tested this firmware with respect to reload of config.

When I load a different config with MD front controls than after few seconds Globals saved message appears, after power cycle MD the last loaded config is now reloaded :) .
If I load a different config and power cycle MD before the Globals saved message appears, then the last loaded config is not reloaded, logical.

When I load a different config using MDMFX than the Globals saved message does not appear and after power cycle MD the last loaded config is not reloaded.
Seems like MD should save globals directly after loading a config?
Kind regards, Rob.

MD STM32F205RCT6 v3 (STM32d_56) full kit with 1.8" colour LCD, PDX-8, KD8, FD8, 2xCY5, 5xCY8, CY12R, 5x MPS300 DIY upgrade with mesh head/Roland cone/dual zone, Steinberg UR22/UR44.
Rovalo
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 9:52 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: MD midi inactive after loading config with MD front cont

Postby dmitri » Wed Nov 06, 2019 10:59 am

When you load a config into MegaDrum using MDMFX it is not automatically saved into EEPROM. You have to use Save to Slot for that in MDMFX.
dmitri
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8281
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:05 pm

PreviousNext

Return to MegaDrum Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 31 guests