Fustrations with configuring switches

Discussions related to MegaDrum Hardware

Fustrations with configuring switches

Postby GreasyBumpkin » Wed Jul 31, 2019 9:22 pm

For some reason I cannot get the switch settings to stick. I am following these instructions to the letter from the 3 way yamaha cymbal guide:

In the Head/Bow channel set 'DualHead' to Yes.
In the Head/Bow channel set 'Note' to a note desired for the Bow zone.
In the Rim/Edge channel set 'Type' to Switch.
In the Rim/Edge channel set 'Note' to a note desired for the Edge zone.
In the Rim/Edge channel set 'BNote' to a note desired for the Bell zone.
Repeat all above steps for all connected Yamaha style 3 zone cymbals.
In the menu navigate to 'Set All EdgeSw', press Up to change from No to Yes and then press Right. It then will show 'Working'. Now hit a few times edge zones of all connected piezo/switch and piezo/switch/switch (Yamaha style) pads/cymbals. When done, press any button to finish.


the one and only part I am skipping are the bell settings as I'm not there yet.

I get ''setalledgesw'' and get the ''working'' appearing. I test it on MDMFX and can confirm aftertouch is getting through. BUT if I press right then this setting reverts back to off, so therefore my switch messages are not getting through. Whats up with this?

Firmware 20181218
GreasyBumpkin
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 7:38 am

Re: Fustrations with configuring switches

Postby ignotus » Thu Aug 01, 2019 7:10 am

It may or may not be a bug but I never use that to set switches anyway because each cymbal tends to require a different value, so setting them all to the same one doesn't really work for me. Just raise threshold for each individual switch from 0 to whenever it starts sending aftertouch messages - then make sure you save to a slot afterwards to avoid losing the settings.

BTW, did you get the hi hat working?
If it ain't broken... fix it until it is.
ignotus
 
Posts: 799
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 11:36 am

Re: Fustrations with configuring switches

Postby GreasyBumpkin » Thu Aug 01, 2019 10:37 am

ignotus wrote:BTW, did you get the hi hat working?


Not yet I'm not sure which wires go on which pins, I assume it's live-earth-neutral? It's hard to tell from the datasheet as I don't really know how to read schematics

I'll send a screenshot of my MDM settings for a cymbal later.
GreasyBumpkin
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 7:38 am

Re: Fustrations with configuring switches

Postby ignotus » Thu Aug 01, 2019 11:01 am

Here's the pinout for the hall effect sensor:
pinout.png

Make sure you follow the pinout and note the numbering of the UA package. The side with the narrower face facing you.

And here's how it goes to the jack:
jack connections.gif
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
If it ain't broken... fix it until it is.
ignotus
 
Posts: 799
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 11:36 am

Re: Fustrations with configuring switches

Postby GreasyBumpkin » Thu Aug 01, 2019 9:23 pm

ignotus wrote:And here's how it goes to the jack:
jack connections.gif


Sorry to be pedantic but on the TRS input picture from left>right = sleeve - ring - tip?

Thanks for that this was the datasheet I had.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
GreasyBumpkin
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 7:38 am

Re: Fustrations with configuring switches

Postby ignotus » Fri Aug 02, 2019 6:43 am

GreasyBumpkin wrote:Sorry to be pedantic but on the TRS input picture from left>right = sleeve - ring - tip?

Yeah that's right.
If it ain't broken... fix it until it is.
ignotus
 
Posts: 799
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 11:36 am

Re: Fustrations with configuring switches

Postby GreasyBumpkin » Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:06 pm

Hey ignotus, I'm back and here's my settings screen caps.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
GreasyBumpkin
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 7:38 am

Re: Fustrations with configuring switches

Postby GreasyBumpkin » Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:08 pm

Just to add another image of the sensor. I'm getting absolutely zilch on both the pedal and the edges (unknown class midi notes are going through though)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
GreasyBumpkin
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 7:38 am

Re: Fustrations with configuring switches

Postby ignotus » Tue Aug 13, 2019 8:58 am

Set the pedal type to 'foot controller' instead of 'pot'. I also see that the edge threshold is set to 0 - did you raise it 1 by 1 until you get aftertouch messages when squeezing it?
If it ain't broken... fix it until it is.
ignotus
 
Posts: 799
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 11:36 am

Re: Fustrations with configuring switches

Postby GreasyBumpkin » Tue Aug 13, 2019 8:50 pm

Hi Again,

good news, aftertouch is getting through! (pic attached) it's only sending one note though, how do I best separate these zones?

bad news, still no signal on the pedal (another pic), all the levels are set to 0, no raw midi detected. I am pretty sure I have wired this correctly, I only have one hall sensor left to re-do, what do you think mate?

I'll be owing you a huge pack of beers after all this
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
GreasyBumpkin
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 7:38 am

Next

Return to MegaDrum Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests

cron