Problems with Roland cymbals

Discussions related to MegaDrum Hardware

Re: Problems with Roland cymbals

Postby dmitri » Sun Sep 15, 2019 5:33 pm

Sorry, I mistook bow for bell. So you get bell sound when you hit a bow, right? On the Bell (switch) input set Gain to 4 and the Threshold to to 0. Still not getting bow?
dmitri
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8438
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:05 pm

Re: Problems with Roland cymbals

Postby Ad0 » Sun Sep 15, 2019 5:36 pm

dmitri wrote:Sorry, I mistook bow for bell. So you get bell sound when you hit a bow, right? On the Bell (switch) input set Gain to 4 and the Threshold to to 0. Still not getting bow?


Hello, thanks for responding, it means a lot. Because I have struggled for 2 full days with this damn ride :D

Now I am getting somewhere. I swapped the cables and got this when I hit: 1) edge, 2) bow, 3) bell

Code: Select all
18,365   10  0x99  0x35  0x17  F  3  Note On
   0,229   10  0x99  0x35  0x00  F  3  Note Off
   8,683   10  0x99  0x33  0x20  D# 3  Note On
   0,232   10  0x99  0x33  0x00  D# 3  Note Off
   2,159   10  0x99  0x37  0x13  G  3  Note On
   0,223   10  0x99  0x37  0x00  G  3  Note Off


Based on setttings

Image

Image

I have plugged Bow / Edge in input 5, Bell in 6.

I don't get the choke message. It has to be some setting! It seems like the "Disabled" setting doesn't have much effect, and that it doesn't get stored when you do "save to slot".
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Ad0
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:41 pm

Re: Problems with Roland cymbals

Postby dmitri » Mon Sep 16, 2019 3:38 pm

So you get Notes for all 3 zones but no choking? Hm, sounds like impossible to me.
Can you show a screenshot of MIDI Log:
1. after you hit each zone and press the edge switch after hitting each zone.
2. after you hit each zone and press the bell switch after hitting each zone.
dmitri
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8438
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:05 pm

Re: Problems with Roland cymbals

Postby Ad0 » Mon Sep 16, 2019 3:46 pm

Code: Select all
   62,913   10  0x99  0x35  0x0d  F  3  Note On
   0,225   10  0x99  0x35  0x00  F  3  Note Off
   3,766   10  0x99  0x33  0x43  D# 3  Note On
   0,231   10  0x99  0x33  0x00  D# 3  Note Off
   4,095   10  0x99  0x37  0x30  G  3  Note On
   0,230   10  0x99  0x37  0x00  G  3  Note Off
   9,188   10  0x99  0x35  0x2d  F  3  Note On
   0,231   10  0x99  0x35  0x00  F  3  Note Off
   4,144   10  0x99  0x37  0x2a  G  3  Note On
   0,231   10  0x99  0x37  0x00  G  3  Note Off
   6,187   10  0x99  0x37  0x36  G  3  Note On
   0,222   10  0x99  0x37  0x00  G  3  Note Off         


How do I press the bell switch really? Also, after doing save to slot, turning off, turning on, and then "getall" the disable checkboxes are not saved:

Image
Ad0
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:41 pm

Re: Problems with Roland cymbals

Postby dmitri » Mon Sep 16, 2019 3:53 pm

1. Just press down with a stick or with a finger in the bell area.
2. The checkboxes you marked are not 'Disable' checkboxes. These are checkboxes to sync Alt/Pressroll Notes to the Main Note. These checkboxes don't have any related setting in MegaDrum itself and only have meaning in MDMFX.
dmitri
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8438
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:05 pm

Re: Problems with Roland cymbals

Postby Ad0 » Mon Sep 16, 2019 3:57 pm

dmitri wrote:1. Just press down with a stick or with a finger in the bell area.
2. The checkboxes you marked are not 'Disable' checkboxes. These are checkboxes to sync Alt/Pressroll Notes to the Main Note. These checkboxes don't have any related setting in MegaDrum itself and only have meaning in MDMFX.


Thanks. I did press the finger in the bell area just as you told, and that was the log. It is really weird. I am 100% sure there is something fundamentally wrong in my configuration. I think the MegaDrum unit and the cymbal is working fine.
Ad0
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:41 pm

Re: Problems with Roland cymbals

Postby dmitri » Mon Sep 16, 2019 5:37 pm

You don't see anything coming in from the module at all when you press edge/bell switches? The MIDI LED doesn't blink either when you press/release the switches?
dmitri
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8438
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:05 pm

Re: Problems with Roland cymbals

Postby Ad0 » Mon Sep 16, 2019 5:41 pm

dmitri wrote:You don't see anything coming in from the module at all when you press edge/bell switches? The MIDI LED doesn't blink either when you press/release the switches?


I tried just squeezing alone, only sometimes, not every time.

Code: Select all
 
6877,439   10  0xa9  0x37  0x7f  G  3  Aftertouch                   
   0,003   10  0xa9  0x33  0x7f  D# 3  Aftertouch                   
   0,002   10  0xa9  0x35  0x7f  F  3  Aftertouch                   
   0,002   10  0xa9  0x37  0x00  G  3  Aftertouch                   
   0,002   10  0xa9  0x33  0x00  D# 3  Aftertouch                   
   0,002   10  0xa9  0x35  0x00  F  3  Aftertouch                   
  10,713   10  0x99  0x33  0x0c  D# 3  Note On                       
   0,226   10  0x99  0x33  0x00  D# 3  Note Off                     
   1,277   10  0x99  0x33  0x0c  D# 3  Note On                       
   0,226   10  0x99  0x33  0x00  D# 3  Note Off                     
   7,127   10  0xa9  0x37  0x7f  G  3  Aftertouch                   
   0,001   10  0xa9  0x33  0x7f  D# 3  Aftertouch                   
   0,001   10  0xa9  0x35  0x7f  F  3  Aftertouch                   
   0,006   10  0xa9  0x37  0x00  G  3  Aftertouch                   
   0,001   10  0xa9  0x33  0x00  D# 3  Aftertouch                   
   0,001   10  0xa9  0x35  0x00  F  3  Aftertouch                   
  28,898   10  0xa9  0x37  0x7f  G  3  Aftertouch                   
   0,001   10  0xa9  0x33  0x7f  D# 3  Aftertouch                   
   0,001   10  0xa9  0x35  0x7f  F  3  Aftertouch                   
   0,010   10  0xa9  0x37  0x00  G  3  Aftertouch                   
   0,001   10  0xa9  0x33  0x00  D# 3  Aftertouch                   
   0,001   10  0xa9  0x35  0x00  F  3  After
Ad0
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:41 pm

Re: Problems with Roland cymbals

Postby dmitri » Tue Sep 17, 2019 9:06 am

So you do get choking. Is it pressing edge or bell?
dmitri
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8438
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:05 pm

Re: Problems with Roland cymbals

Postby Ad0 » Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:08 am

dmitri wrote:So you do get choking. Is it pressing edge or bell?


Edge. But only sometimes. Never bell.
Ad0
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:41 pm

PreviousNext

Return to MegaDrum Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 75 guests