DIY Cymbals & a lot of questions

Discussions related to MegaDrum Hardware

DIY Cymbals & a lot of questions

Postby stefan1982 » Mon Oct 20, 2014 3:34 pm

First of all, I'm sorry if this post does not belong in here. I searched, searched again, read almost all topics about DIY and Cymbals, without any succes to find what I'm looking for.
So, posting the question in here.

I've been researching how to make my own cymbals for a couple of months now. While there is plenty information to find, fact is that almost every post here or on other forums (like drums.info/vdrums/edrummer.com) are incomplete.

The question is, how should one make a reliable 3-zone (ride/crashride)-cymbal (Bell/bow/edge) with choke-function, for use with the MegaDrum TMI?

And how should one make a reliable hi-hat for use with the MegaDrum?

What is more preferably, using an old A-cymbal and convert that to an e-cymbal, or use 6mm acrylic to make an e-cymbal?
What material is more reliable, and which one is the preference of choice?

When should the Keith Raper circuit exactly be used? I do not seem to grasp the idea behing the piezo-piezo, and the piezo-switch circuits?

I hope there are some people willing to help me out..
stefan1982

Re: DIY Cymbals & a lot of questions

Postby airflamesred » Tue Oct 21, 2014 7:44 am

I can't really help you with the hi hat as I am allergic to them but with the cymbals I would definitely go with a metal conversion. Plastic would be like using a Frisbee.

koby drums - Triggera krigg/Bix - megadrum - Kontakt........... Samples from all and sundry.
airflamesred

Postby privatex » Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:56 pm